Tokyo Series Day 11: Kyoto

Editor’s note: I’ve had the great opportunity to visit Japan twice in the last five years, first in 2016 and again in 2018 and with the start of the Olympic Games in Tokyo I wanted to revisit those trips and share some of the pictures that I may or may not have already.

Kyoto was the capital of Japan from 794 to 1868 before the Imperial Court was moved to Tokyo.

Kyoto is now considered the country’s cultural capital and is home to 17 UNESCO World Heritage sites. These include numerous Hindu and Shinto shrines, ornate and well-manicured gardens and other historic landmarks.

I have previously written about some of these including Fushimi Inari-taisha, Kiyomizudera and Gion, the city’s geisha district.

Photos of the temples included here are To-ji, another world Heritage site, as well as Kogenji and Kodaiji.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s